Not necessarily. The file is in a compressed and encrypted state on the server. When a file is published the encryption for the version, which is published, is removed and the file is no longer compressed. This file is then uploaded to allow access to it via the published link. Published files also occupy space on the server. In other words, there will be the original, encrypted and compressed, version on the server as well as the non-encrypted and non-compressed published version on the server.