Android client security

Questions and information regarding the Android app - Fragen und Informationen zur Android-Applikation

Android client security

Postby haelix » 30 Aug 2012, 13:31

Hello,

I like it very much teamdrive offers encryption at source and this is why I prefer it.

My android smartphone was recently stolen and I leaked sensitive data (I was using Dropbox), and I want to protect myself for the future.

My question is, can TeamDrive make it so that there is no caching going on on Android?
The problem is, no matter how secure the communication is, if the filesystem has offline files cached, those will be viewable when your phone is stolen.

I am a software developer myself and can understand these things. I realize I may be asking for a different type of security here.
Such security would mean that data is only accessible while the TeamDrive client is open. The data would be accessible to other applications only during this time - this implies no caching between application runs, and decrypting the files every time, either using a ram drive or the SD card but shredding it on exit.

How feasible is to do this? Do you know of any products that do something like this?
haelix

Re: Android client security

Postby Kenneth » 24 Sep 2012, 16:02

iOS and Android offer the possibility to password encrypt your TeamDrive application. If you go into the settings of your TeamDrive app you can select an amount of time (immediately, 1min, 2mins, etc.) as to when TeamDrive will require a password to continue using and accessing the data. If the correct password is not entered access to the data will be discontinued.
Kenneth

Postby niels » 13 Apr 2013, 17:25